Personal News

525,600 Minutes

Five hundred twenty-five thousand six hundred minutes

Five hundred twenty-five thousand six hundred moments so dear

Five hundred twenty-five thousand six hundred minutes

How do you measure, measure a year?

In blog posts? In comments?

In book feels? In bloggers reading?

In new friends? Twitter chats? In fandoms? Or followers?

In five hundred twenty-five thousand six hundred minutes

How do you measure a book lover’s life?

(In case you can’t tell, I love Rent.)

When I first started blogging, I wasn’t entirely sure I’d make it an entire year. It seemed like a long time and a lot of work. (Spoiler: it is a LOT of work. How do y’all do it?) But here we are, January 1st, 2017.

Here’s my 2016 in review:

january-01 was a month of trial and error, trying to decide on a blog theme that made me happy (which I still haven’t quite achieved) and trying to get the hang of how this blogging thing worked. I posted quite a few reviews, but I’ve learned now that quantity doesn’t equal quality, though it’s nice if you can write in-depth reviews on a regular basis.

february-01 held more reviews, the introduction of Book Twitter, and the short-lived Fiction Fridays, when I was still trying to figure out if I wanted to be a book blogger or a writing-stuff blogger.

march-01 was…eventful, to say the least. My blogging and off-line life intersected in a nasty way when a small argument blew up and got dragged to the Internet. I had to put my blog on lock-down for a week or so, but got back into posting a little later. But the best part of March made up for the bad things: I met Gwenda Bond and Victoria Schwab at a signing in Lexington!

 

april-01 led to exploring different post styles, and I started a series on how to interview anyone but didn’t really continue it beyond two posts (oops).

may-01 was the First Great Hiatus (one month. one post). I wish I’d blogged more, but school came first.

june-01was the month I married a book (The Star Touched Queen <3)i-married-a-book

july-01 actually had consistent posts! I’m going to strive for that again, next year. I participated in more Twitter chats, too, and got to see more Book Twitter.

august-01was the month I started my junior year of high school, and promptly succumbed to living in Google Drive, wondering when I would be able to blog again.

I turned 17 in september It was, thankfully, a low-stress birthday. I can honestly say that 17 is better than 16. I began waiting for my YA adventure to begin, since I was the same age as many protagonists. *author of my life starts to giggle at the foreshadowing, wickedly brandishing a pen*

october-01BROUGHT THE PLOT. I didn’t post anything at all, unfortunately, as my life was starting to resemble a YA contemporary novel. So, um, be careful what you wish for! I have new respect for contemporaries. And absolutely no wish to star in a sequel.

november-01…Heh. Um. One post! And about 30 pages in essays written. I’m not entirely sure if I spend more time in my room or in Google Drive, frantically flipping between Docs and avoiding looking at my calendar. I wrote a 10 page research paper, turned in the final draft for my first feature story in the city-wide news magazine my school produces, prepared for an orchestra concert, and generally didn’t sleep.

december-01 got me back in the swing of posting , which felt amazing after being away from the blog for so long. Finals week wasn’t too bad, though I fell asleep during my history final and dreamed the answer to a question that wasn’t actually on the test.

While I didn’t address any of the major events of 2016 (we’ve already lived through them), I can honestly say I’m glad 2016 is over. As a year of blogging, it was full of fun, friends,  and learning experiences. As a year in general, though, it was terrifying.

My main goal for 2017 is to read more diversely. There are so many diverse books releasing next year that I can’t wait to read (27 HOURS). I reached my Goodreads challenge of 75 books; I’m currently at 98, and hope to make it to 100 before 2017! My other goal is to post more. This year was kind of sparse, and most of the posts were reviews, so mixing up my post style and adding more graphics is a blogging goal.

Non-blogging/reading goals: Pass Algebra 2. Get a 32 on the ACT. Get my restricted driver’s license before senior year starts.

Here’s to 2017: may it be less of a trashfire than 2016.

 

Leave a Reply

