Other Bookish Things

Out of My Comfort Zone

We all have our comfort genres, the ones we cling to, almost to the point of knowing where each and every book of this genre goes in the public library. It’s the genre we can dive into again and again without ever getting bored. For me, it’s fiction/fantasy. But this week, I’ve been reading outside my comfort zone. I’ve decided that every time I go to the library, I must check out one book outside of my comfort genre.

So far, I’ve read an AMAZING memoir called The Girl With Seven Names by Lee Hyeon-seo. She tells about her life and North Korea and how she escaped, then returned to help her mother and brother leave. It’s POWERFUL and so, so eye-opening.

Goodreads / Amazon

One of my friends at school recommended this to me. It explains Taoism through Winnie-the-Pooh AND Winnie-the-Pooh through Taoism. While I don’t agree with some of the principles (I am WAYY too curious to follow the Tao, sadly), The Tao of Pooh gave me some insight into different ways of thinking and achieving inner peace. I HIGHLY recommend reading this book–be sure to set aside some time for contemplating life after finishing it.

Goodreads / Amazon

This is one of the best biographies I’ve read. It’s SO absorbing and really transports you into the time of Catherine the Great. It makes her come alive in a way that textbooks can’t. Catherine the Great: Portrait of a Woman uses some of Catherine’s letters and her own journals as sources to bring her back to life.

Goodreads / Amazon

That’s it for now! How often do you read outside of your go-to genre? What are some of your favorite nonfiction books?

 

Leave a Reply

