Reviews

Six of Crows: Leigh Bardugo

 

51LYZqzZcNL._SX334_BO1,204,203,200_

Book: Six of Crows by (the fabulous) Leigh Bardugo

Format: Hardcover

Goodreads Summary: Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

My Thoughts:

Six of Crows was a book I first heard about on Twitter from the also-fabulous Victoria Schwab. Then the hype picked up and I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it; the cover looked amazing and I’d already been scarred by LOVED Leigh’s Grisha Trilogy (which, if you haven’t read, is among my favorite trilogies in the entire world). The world, I knew, was amazing, but where the characters? I was skeptical about the plot–too many characters in a complex plot could ruin a book.

I WAS BLOWN AWAY.

HOLY GUACAMOLE.

THIS BOOK.

Not only was the world just as amazing and fresh as in the Grisha trilogy, but there were new aspects to it, more to explore. AND THE CHARACTERS.

As much as I loved the plot, the characters captured my heart more than anything. Well-formed, deep, and complex, they stole my heart from the first page, even the secondary characters. Most of all, their interactions blew me away as a reader and a writer. Nothing is simple in this book. It’s beautifully gritty, intricate, and well-executed.

But I can’t stop there. SHIPS. OH GOD, THE SHIPS. BrOTPs and OTPs and OTPs-who-have-a-history.

I just…aghh *dissolves into fangirly puddle*

sixofcrows2

^^above photo is not mine, found on Google and LOVED

Rating: Five gold stars!

Cheers,

Kaelyn

3 thoughts on “Six of Crows: Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

